Info Graphics

Exploring Info Graphics with Ricardo Eversley

Today’s lesson consisted of us looking into different types of info graphics and how they can be used to communicate important information for an establishment or idea. I have chosen some info graphics I like which were found whilst searching the well known website called Pinterest. I have carefully considered which design style I would like to use for my cafe project. As my cafe project has many meaningful elements using shapes and colours. 

Task 1 | Finding Examples

The first example I have found is a series of posters linked to a monthly performance event   with links to one particular event happening on 22 June which is written in the top left hand corner. The poster series is very similar yet using different elements linked to the event night in New York City. I was attracted to this particular info graphic due to it’s inventive use of colours and geometric shapes and interesting touch on photography and graphics. I also felt this was a good example as it links to one of my important cafe elements. f9aa2c90a5dd3adab46b3126827e61af

The second example I found was an info graphic geometric mask and shape collection helping to express the importance of angles and a photographs key elements without using words. Following the lines helps to outline the subject of the photograph. I was interested in these particular design pieces due to their use of interesting colour palettes, pattern work and natural scenes.

7d7fb1e9fcf9065a22f880de7bc2cf90

I decided to look at some different examples of info graphics moving away from the focus points and directions I had already researched and found. The next one I looked at was focusing on statistics. Using photography as well as typography and illustration to communicate elements. The simplicity within these info graphics are something I am interested in using for my cafe combining different methods of designs which will work to express my cafe’s important versatile elements. 

457c11cc224ba27e7fb2486aea2063f8

The above examples are very much to my style, experimenting with a variety of colours which express feeling and importance. The next example was again using photography, an area I am looking to improve in during my last year at university. I feel this info graphic in particular is showing different scenes, different people and cultures which is also another strong element of my cafe concept. Again using a range of colours and type which doesn’t take over from the imagery. 

90281964da2d7eb6be72553201daf64f

My final example is a little more simplistic not using as much colour as the previous design pieces I have been looking at today. They are written in Chinese which I cannot relate to, however these info graphics seemed to be used in a storytelling type of way. 

ifg.png

Task 2 | Serifs & San Serifs | Adobe Type Kit & Colour

The second part of today’s info graphics lesson was based on looking at how different type faces are used to create successful info graphics. As most designers should already know it is never a good idea to use more than two type faces within one design piece. 3 is maximum and for them to work well together, keeping the type faces simplistic. 

pink&yellow.png

As you can see from the first info graphics I found have many different yet similar type faces used to create the series. I have chosen to look close at one of my favourite designs in the series. Using a long, semi bold, sans serif type faces to highlight the core information on the flyers/posters. A thin circular san serif font to add other featured information. Free entry has been highlighter using a colour used in the background image. The colour palettes used are mainly different shades of pink, orange, yellow and white. 

Using Adobe Type Kit I have had a look at this particular type face structure and how I could maybe think to use these type faces for my info graphics. I have to admit this is second time I have ever used this application which is terrible as I am part of a branding studio at university. I have used different platforms for different type faces such as Font1001, however I can see that Adobe Type Kit works in a more professional way.

font.png

Using Adobe Color I have created a colour palette based on the above design I had researched today helping me to understand how creating profession pantone’s works. This is another application I have not got a lot of experience using, however I will be looking to use this more often throughout designing. 

Color.png

I noticed after completing this colour palette I had missed the colour white from my pantones. When I use this application for my own design pieces I will make sure to include all the colours I have included. 

Reflection

Today’s lesson has helped me to put together some important research for my cafe project. I have learnt different ways to put info graphics together as well as include my own pantones using Adobe Color. I have also learnt how to use Adobe Type Kit to find the perfect most suitable type faces efficiently. 

Leave a Reply

