The British Museum

9.45am Arriving at the British Museum, a beautiful sunny morning, the only thing keeping me smiling. 

IMG_7888

Another early start, my eyes still heavy from lack of sleep I met the rest of my classmates and tutor. Once introduced to todays brief we explored the beautiful historical building. Our first stop was to see the famous Rosetta Stone, aged back to ancient Egyptian times. People crowded around the display making it difficult for us to get a clear view. We stopped at the display for half an hour observing and creating simple sketches.

PicMonkey Collage 2

Our tutor Michelle had told us to use felt tips and to keep the outlines and details minimal.

PicMonkey Collage 5

Moving on from the Rosetta Stone we looked at the Nereid Monument a huge walk way. Standing tall on both sides where god like figures with wings. The intricate details were mesmerising. Up close the details were so tiny which must have taken ages to carve.

PicMonkey Collage6 .jpgwings.jpg

Here are some close up sketches of the Nereid Monument.

Next we looked at the Totem Pole, based at the Great Court area. An interesting sculpture, sky high full of characters faces. Totem Poles are used in different areas to scare intruders or visitors from entering a new place. Each face has it own distinguished features similar to animals.

PicMonkey Collage 9.jpg

Totem.jpg

Here are a few of my sketches of my favourite detailed areas of the Totem Poles.

Last we visited the Living and Dying room. I chose three objects that caught my eye.

living and dying room.jpg

last.jpg

This visit has helped me to prepare for my third project brief and to use a different way of drawing that I am not particularly comfortable with. It is helping me to work outside my comfort zone and to explore history in a new way.

Leave a Reply

